top of page

"Have you heard of the Herd?" - the beginning of our journey

After reading about the search for an illustrator posted for a new children's book app that centered on the animals of the classical Noah's Ark story, I knew I had to apply.

"Have you heard of the Herd?" Children's app

After talking with Wade Webster and reading his delightful manuscript, he told me he wanted me to do my best and its been like a dream to work on this. This was a children's app as opposed to a print book, so planning was crucial in how we were to incorporate interactions for the child reading the app.

One of my dreams had always been to illustrate the Bible or my favorite stories in it, and this was the one that spoke to me the most as a child. The author also wanted handpainted animals in a realistic style! My heart stopped as that is my favorite style.

Create it and they shall come

We have did most of the planning and what we would like to see. I will cover the early stages in the next few posts, there was a LOT of planning before any art was started for this children's app. Then the book dummy and how it evolved, then to the starting of the actual painting.

We begin to hash out ideas for "Have you heard of the Herd?" and I wanted to post our progress as this great adventure unfolds for us. What was the thinking behind changes and what worked and what didnt.

Please join us, and if you have any questions feel free to send me a message. I will post updates every few days and we have some exciting news coming soon on this collaboration as the illustrator.

Wade Webster will also be blogging on his site from his point of view as the author and the thinking behind the story, its formation, and his take on things.

Thank you so much!

Dyann Joyce

The dove picture is our first finished piece for the children's storybook app, "Have you heard of the Herd?" by Wade Webster and illustrated by Dyann Joyce

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page